Each state is responsible for passing its own laws concerning homeschooling. Here is an easy guide to New Hampshire’s requirements.
New Hampshire’s Regulations:
The compulsory age for school attendance is six years to eighteen years old. Residents wishing to homeschool their children in New Hampshire are required by law to contact the local school district superintendent or a participating private school. Parents must keep a record of all their children’s work and submit an evaluation yearly accessing the child’s level of understanding and accomplishments.
It is important to notify the school district of your intent to homeschool by letter before the school year starts. If school is already in session you must give 5 days notification to the school district by letter. Keep your own copy of any documents you send to the school.
Letter of Notification:
When writing your letter to the participating agency whether the local public school are participating private school there are some things you need to include:
- Your children’s names,addresses, date of birth, ages, and grade level
- Your name, address and phone number
- The date of your first day of homeschooling for the school year
- A short sentence explaining your intention to homeschool
Once your letter is submitted it is assumed you will continue your home educating in successive years and so you only need to notify the school of your intent one time. Within 14 days the school will notify you that they have received your letter.
The state requires that you keep a portfolio of each child’s work for at least two years after the work is completed. It is also required to keep a log of all materials used. It is not required that you share the portfolio with the school district, but can be used in the child’s year end evaluation and should include samples of the child’s work.
Parents are required to have their child evaluated at the end of each school year, but are not required to send the information to the school district. Approved methods of evaluation:
- Be evaluated by a certified teacher that is currently employed
- Nationally recognized achievement test
- Any other previously agreed upon method of evaluation approved by the school district in advance
This evaluation is something that the parent is required to keep on file in case there is a question about the program or the child’s level of achievement.