Gluten is basically a protein present in almost everything you consume. However, some people are intolerant to gluten, and therefore consumption of gluten even in moderate amounts can lead to physiological problems like the Coeliac disease. Coeliac and gluten-intolerance is found in one among every hundred people belonging to any geographical area of the world; so, there is a one-hundredth chance that you might be suffering from this disease. Symptoms of coeliac disease include bloating, changed movements of the bowel, and indigestion; factors which are usually misdiagnosed by doctors and patients alike to represent normal circumstances. So to stay safe and healthy do away with the following seven foods which contain a lot of gluten.
Normally, gluten is found in grain products; Wheat, Barley, and Rye are all containers of heavy amounts of gluten but a few products that might trick you into believing otherwise are mentioned below.
Avoid Breads and Pastas
Anything wheat, barley or rye related needs to be avoided, as these are packed with gluten. This includes wheat flour, cereals, oatmeal, biscuits, bread pastas etc.
Smelt is often relied upon as a gluten-free source of nutrition because of its crumbly texture. But to tell you the awful truth, it is packed with gluten. Gluten-free flour of corn, rice or soy is a better alternative for a gluten-free flour option.
Avoid fried chips and wedges
Potato in itself is gluten-free, so you may feel absolutely at ease having French fries all the time. But don’t be so sure. French fries are often made with a generous dusting of flour, chicken salt, and contaminated oil, all of which contain gluten.
Avoid battered foods
Battered foods such as meat are another tricky source of gluten. Meat is gluten-free, so you love the chicken breast fillet you are having every other night. However, the covering it comes with is packed with gluten, so be careful.
Avoid Corn flour
You might be of the opinion that corn flour is gluten-free, well that is not entirely true. Many versions of corn flour come with wheat contamination in the market, so make sure you buy one that is gluten-free.
Avoid BBQ Chicken
The chicken is not at fault here; it’s the stuffing. Traditionally, BBQ chicken comes with a breadcrumb stuffing, which releases gluten throughout the chicken. Henceforth, simply removing the stuffing does not solve the problem.
Avoid Beer, Guinness, Ale, and Lager
All of these contain gluten, unless stated otherwise. Make sure you develop a habit of reading the fine print to ensure the consumption of gluten-free alcoholic products only.
More from this Contributor:
5 Best Laptops of 2014
Magical World of Studio Ghibli
Where are the earliest employees of a major tech company now? Microsoft
Wheat, Barley, and Rye